South Australia has confirmed restrictions to their High Points category, in addition to other recent changes.

Immigration SA will be closely monitoring the level of High Points category applications in the coming weeks, due to the high number of applications that have been submitted. When the number of applications is close to the quota allowed for the High Points category, the minimum points threshold will be automatically raised to 90. If the quota is completely filled then the High Points category will be closed until the end of the 2017/2018 migration year (until 20 June 2018).

Additionally, if an application is submitted after 19 February 2018, the list of occupations below will no longer be eligible for sponsorship in the High Points category:

  • 132211 Finance Manager
  • 221111 Accountant (General)
  • 221112 Management Accountant
  • 221113 Taxation Accountant
  • 221213 External Auditor
  • 222112 Finance Broker
  • 222199 Financial Brokers nec
  • 222211 Financial Market Dealer
  • 222299 Financial Dealers nec
  • 222311 Financial Investment Adviser
  • 222312 Financial Investment Manager
  • 225113 Marketing Specialist

The High Points category is for those who want to apply for a Skilled Visa but who need State or Territory sponsorship to achieve higher points.

If an applicant has an occupation on the South Australia Supplementary Skilled List and can achieve 75 points, then they can apply for sponsorship in South Australia under the High Points Category. Another option is the South Australia State Nominated Occupation List where listed occupations have special conditions.

Essentially, an applicant whose occupation is on the South Australia State Nominated List OR the South Australia Supplementary Skilled List may be eligible for the High Points category.

Quotas do apply to the High Points category, so occupations will only have a certain number of spaces available. If you are approved for the High Points category then you will be automatically invited to apply for a Skilled Visa. However, you will still need to meet the other nomination requirements for South Australia.

Applicants who require 5 points will be invited to apply for the Skilled – Nominated (190) Visa.

Applicants who require 10 points will be invited to apply for the Skilled – Nominated (489) Visa.

A Registered Migration Agent can help you to identify the visa pathway that suits you best. Contact us today by completing a free online visa assessment.